Reviews - Malvern Guest House

clean, tidy, but £75 and no toilet? - Rating 3/5

Very friendly, excellent breakfast, all very clean. Our only issue was there was no toilet in the room, it was a shared toilet on the landing, we were told it was only for use by us but wasn't, for £75 a night we didn't expect this.. the room was very cluttered.. should really be a single.. This particular room should be no more than £50..

Response

Sorry about your issues but you chose the room on booking .com which said with private toilet. The room has a full size shower and sink in its own cubicle, which does take up a proportion of the room granted. but i still believe there is enough space for 2 people to move around after all the room was only used for sleeping by you. The price is the average price for the area and booking through a booking agent does make a difference, we pay commission on their charges, if i let this room at £50 minus commission i would put myself out of business. I am very upset you felt this way, i don\'t often have any complaints about my rooms.

Reviewer:Steve A | Mon 9th Sep 2019 | 1 week ago


Family short break - Rating 5/5

Fabulous location,friendly staff, lovely breakfast, comfortable bed, clean room.

Response

So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again sometime in the future until then take care

Reviewer:Donna J | Mon 2nd Sep 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Bridlington- Rating 5/5

I had a very nice stay the staff were very helpful and friendly the decor was very nice too a lovely Yorkshire house the bed was comfy and plenty of tea and biscuits available breakfast was good too everything you need i would recommend and would book again

Response

Thank you for your wonderful review, i am so glad you enjoyed our lovely yorkshire welcome, until you return take care

Reviewer:David S | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 2 weeks ago


LOVELY - Rating 5/5

Lovely guesthouse lovely people very helpful and friendly comfortable beds and clean room

Response

Thank you Samantha so glad you enjoyed your stay. Until the next time take care.

Reviewer:Samantha W | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Warm and welcoming - Rating 5/5

Lovely room and friendly owners. Definitely would stay again

Response

Thank you and hears to the next time until then take care

Reviewer:Michael B | Sat 17th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


My stay at the malvern - Rating 5/5

Great hosts great value great breakfast will definatley stay again

Response

What can i say Mick thank you and you can defo stay again until then take care

Reviewer:Mick M | Fri 16th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


Malvern guest house Bridlington - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful time, landlady very friendly, rooms clean an tidy, nice full English breakfast an lots of other choices also, all in al had a great stay. Karen

Response

Thank you Karen it was nice meeting you and hope to meet again sometime in the future until then take care

Reviewer:Karen S | Tue 13th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


Cant wait to return - Rating 5/5

Susan and Ashleigh gave us a lovely warm welcome even though we arrived 2 hours early our room was ready. We had a comfy nights sleep followed by a 10/10 breakfast. 100% will be returning.

Response

Glad you received a nice welcome we try our best, and we would love to see you again anytime. Until then take care

Reviewer:Sarah-Louise T | Fri 9th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


Perfect break for my parents - Rating 5/5

I booked as a gift for my parents as a short getaway and they loved it. Nothing was too much trouble. Nice little touches in the room like magazines, bottles water, Horlicks and hot chocolate as well as the usual tea and coffee. They said breakfast was amazing, everything very fresh and so tasty. Susan looked after them really well - fantastic host. May have to go and stay there myself!Thank you Malvern x

Response

I am so glad we turned out great for your parents getaway and they loved everything about us, it means a lot to me and can i just say you are welcome to come and see for yourself and if ever your parents want to return they are most welcome until then all take care.

Reviewer:Claire P | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Absolutely lovely.We would have stayed longer if we could have.The Ratcliffe family go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable.There was nothing we wanted for.Great location for the shops and seafront.Definitely will stay again

Response

Thank you Carole we are so glad you enjoyed your stay until we meet again take care.

Reviewer:Carole D | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


needed a break - Rating 5/5

good guest house nice landlady everything you needed in the room tea,coffee,hot choclate biscuits,etc,shower ,shampoo,shower gel soap etc,only thing i could fault was shared toilet. but would definitely go back i had a good 3 days there

Response

Thank you Terry for taking the time to review my guesthouse and can i say you would be welcome to return anytime and i will give you a room with your own toilet lolP.S it would have been my son that used your toilet i will be having words lol

Reviewer:terence g | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Comfortable, homely and a perfect 1 night stay - Rating 5/5

The host Susan was very welcoming and helpful with giving us information about things to do in the area. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice of cereals (great for kids) and a lovely full english. The room was homely and comfortable and had everything you'd need. Overall, it was a perfect 1 night stay and we would stay here again :)

Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my guesthouse. i am so glad you enjoyed our homely atmosphere and it was lovely to meet the 2 sweet little girls. You are all welcome anytime until then take care,

Reviewer:Victoria K | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Brilliant- Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay the owner is so friendly the room was homely breakfast was brilliant cant wait too go back to be honest

Response

Thank you Dawn glad you enjoyed your stay and you are welcome back anytime, until then take care.

Reviewer:Dawn R | Sun 21st Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


One Night Stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly host.Nice room and lovely breakfast.

Response

Thank you so glad all was well for you, Hope to see you again till then take care.

Reviewer:Andrea P | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 2 months ago


Two night stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly, central location &comfortable room with lots of little extras!

Response

So glad you enjoyed your stay, until the next time take care.

Reviewer:Kenneth S | Wed 3rd Jul 2019 | 2 months ago


Wonderful- Rating 5/5

We had a great stay! Owner is so lovely and welcoming. The place is very clean and tidy with all you could need. Breakfast is beautiful! Would recommend this place to anybody.. xx

Response

Thank you for the kind words and the great score. Looking forward to your return someday maybe, until then take care.

Reviewer:Kelly L | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


Fabulous stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night. Excellent hosts, very friendly and welcoming. Room was lovely, even provided little tooothpaste and toothbrushes with all the usual toiletries which was a nice touch. Fab location, five minutes walk to pubs and front. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Response

Thank you Adele it was nice meeting you, hope it didnt take long for the head to feel better, more water next time lol. Until we meet again take care

Reviewer:Adele M | Mon 20th May 2019 | 4 months ago


A comfortable safe haven - Rating 4/5

I was going to The Spa theatre and the guest house is well placed in a quiet street nearby. The landlady was very helpful and obliging and the room was clean, comfortable and warm with thoughtful extras like fridge on landing and toiletries. The breakfast was excellent. I shared a bathroom with the next room which was what I booked and wasn't a problem. This isn't a hotel and I felt like a guest in someone's home. I would book there again and recommend it.

Response

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay it was nice to meet you. We do try and make our house as homely as possible and so glad you feel we have done this. I hope your move goes smoothly and you never know we may meet again, until then take care.

Reviewer:RONA R | Mon 20th May 2019 | 4 months ago


Clean and comfortable,great breakfast. - Rating 4/5

Very clean,comfortable bed,great breakfast. Hosts were welcoming,helpful and very friendly.Only downside was sharing a bathroom with another room,but I was aware of this on booking of course,so it’s not a complaint.

Response

Hi Philip so glad you enjoyed your stay and i am sorry about the shared bathroom, but as you said that is what you booked and it was only shared with 1 other room and only for 1 night. May be on your next visit ring direct and we will see if we can find you a room with your own private toilet lol, until then take care.

Reviewer:Philip B | Wed 15th May 2019 | 4 months ago


Malvern hotel - Rating 5/5

Very clean and friendly hotel .would recommend.lovely lady .excellant breakfast .will be going back again

Response

Hi Lorraine glad you enjoyed your stay it was nice meeting you and lovely talking to you. Looking forward to your next stay until then take care.

Reviewer:Lorraine B | Tue 14th May 2019 | 4 months ago


A lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Everything is good. It’s more like a home, not a guest house. Definitely recommend!

Response

Thank you Shuming so glad you enjoyed your stay and you found it felt like home, well if you ever want to come back home for a visit your very welcome . Until then take care.

Reviewer:Shuming C | Tue 14th May 2019 | 4 months ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Room very comfy and had everything you’d need. Good range of complimentary toiletries for anything you may forget and plenty of refreshments available in room. The host was lovely and the breakfast excellent. For somewhere simply to stay I couldn’t fault it . Will use again

Response

Hi James so glad that you would use us again and that you found everything you need. I strive to make sure that there is nothing you need when using our guesthouse ( only your clothes lol ) and to try and make everyone as comfortable as possible. Until you return again take care.

Reviewer:James G | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Disappointed- Rating 1/5

The TV signal was so poor the picture continuously fragmented and the sound was so poor just the noise that comes with a poor signal. The “free WiFi” was terrible, so bad that the owner gave me an EE signal booster that turned itself off every 20 seconds. This place should be prosecuted under the trade descriptions act. Very poor

Response

Sorry james that you found our place so bad if you had come to me with your complaints i would have gladly tried to help as i did with the use of my free wifi system for you, of which i never have had any problem. Can i draw to your attention these problems are being resolved as fast as i can. I have just recently installed free sat in all my rooms, so no more Ariel problems and more tv channels. ( can i say this wasn\\\\\\\'t cheap ) and the wi fi signal problem is also being addressed. Sorry but thinking about this you may have been the gentleman that i told not to return ,which answers my question of the low score if i am wrong please except my apology\\\\\\\'s

Reviewer:JAMES R | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Enjoyable - Rating 5/5

Was very nice to stop there.food was lovely.Hosts was very friendly polite. Room was clean and tidy and relaxing. Clean through out the guest house. I would recommend to my family and friends.

Response

Thank you John its hard work but when we get reviews like yours it make all my work worth while. You are welcome back anytime until then take care.

Reviewer:john b | Tue 19th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Great guest house- Rating 5/5

I pressed 5 stars and it put 3 stars. A 5 star guesthouse for sure

Response

John what can i say, no better score than a five star, glad you think we deserve it and if ever you want five star treatment again you know where we are, until then take care.

Reviewer:john b | Tue 19th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


short break - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay with good hosts and a lovley breakfast and also very near to all local places would certainly go back

Response

Thank you Paul so glad everything was alright for you and you enjoyed your stay, i look forward to your return, until then take care

Reviewer:paul g | Tue 12th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Brilliant stay in lovely property - Rating 5/5

Pleasant stay in lovely property. Room was cosy and clean, facilities were brilliant. Welcoming and accommodating hostess and nothing was a problem!

Response

Thank you Kirsty so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return, until then take care.

Reviewer:Kirsty W | Wed 27th Feb 2019 | 6 months ago


Malvern guest house- Rating 5/5

Pleasant comfortable home from home clean large bedroom Sue is the perfect host lovely cooked breakfast spoilt for choiceGuest house was close to all amenities

Response

Thank you Deborah for your kind review, i am so glad you felt comfortable in our home. When you travel on your own it can be quiet scary, so glad you felt safe with us and we welcome your return anytime. Until then take care and all the best for 2019

Reviewer:Deborah R | Sun 30th Dec 2018 | 8 months ago


One night stay - Rating 4/5

I found the managers to be welcoming and friendly. The accomodation was good and the bed was comfortable. The included breakfast was also good.

Response

Thank you for your review Leslie glad you enjoyed your stay all the best for 2019

Reviewer:Leslie B | Sat 29th Dec 2018 | 8 months ago


Worth for money - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed and pleased with my stay. The staffs are very accommodating.

Response

Thank you so glad you enjoyed your stay, all the best for 2019

Reviewer:joebert e | Wed 19th Dec 2018 | 9 months ago


Very friendly - Rating 5/5

Very friendly service. Clean and tidy rooms. Excellent breakfast!

Response

Thank you Paul for your review glad all was ok, maybe see you again soon. Till then take care

Reviewer:Paul C | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


Gest house review- Rating 5/5

Fantastic guest house verry clean and tidy well decorated and looked after great food and a very home from home feeling and lovely people who make you feel welcome

Response

Thank you Jonathan so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you like our home from home feeling that we offer, you are welcome anytime until then take careSusan

Reviewer:Jonathan O | Thu 30th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Very warm welcone..Room was lovely...liked the little personal touches..Biscuits..toothbrush. .razor etc...Cant fault anything would definitely return

Response

Thank you Lorraine so glad you enjoyed your stay. Wish you had chance to try one of my breakfasts, but maybe next time. Hope you got some good pictures on your boat trip. Until we meet again take care.

Reviewer:Lorraine P | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


nice - Rating 5/5

made to feel welcome will visit again with my wife and dog

Response

Thank you John for your review, but i am sorry to say we dont take pets, you and your wife would be very welcome though until then take care.

Reviewer:john s | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Malvern reciew - Rating 5/5

For the £25 I paid it was fantastic, lovely hosts, comfortable room with everything you need

Response

Thank you Alan glad everything was ok for you, hope all goes well for you in the future and you never know we may meet again, until then take care.

Reviewer:Alan K | Tue 27th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Malvern guest house Bridlington- Rating 5/5

We just booked for one night at the Malvern and was very impressed with the reception we had. very clean lovely breakfast. Will definitely go again.

Response

Hello peter so glad you enjoyed your stay and as i said if you do come back try one of our larger rooms, It was lovely to meet you and your lovely wife, enjoyed our morning conversation, till we meet again take care

Reviewer:Peter B | Mon 26th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


great value for money - Rating 5/5

The accommodation and service were excellent, for the budget I had.What stood out though, was the owner helping me find where my friends lived, at 9pm, so I could collect my jacket, car keys and phone I had left behind.I went up for a funeral so was an emotionally draining day, and so became a little forgetful.I had never been to my friends house before, and it was in a cul-de-sac reasonably close to the Guest House.This made the service offered by them, excellent.

Response

Thank you Simon for taking the time to review our guest house. We were so glad to help you with the help to recover your property, we know it was a very stressful time for you and we look forward to your return in the future.

Reviewer:Simon H | Fri 26th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly hosts. Room spotless with everything you would expect and more. Bathroom again spotless.I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend to others. Very enjoyable and comfortable stay. Left before breakfast but was offered an early one, can’t ask for more!!!

Response

Thank you Lee for being the first to review ,not only on this site but the first one of many we hope in 2018. We are so glad you enjoyed your short stay, so sorry you didnt have chance to try one of our breakfast maybe next time, till then take care

Reviewer:LEE B | Sun 7th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago